Posted by: reneewildes1 | March 1, 2017

Farewell SAMHAIN

 

It’s a sad day for me and a lot of fellow romance authors–the end of an era. Samhain Publishing LLC goes dark after a decade of leading the small, independent ebook/print pub pack. I started with them in 2006 and published 7 fantasy romance titles in the Guardians of Light series. I was fortunate enough to keep the same editor throughout my Samhain career, the amazing Linda Ingmanson.

I’ve head two fabulous cover artists–Anne Cain did the first three (Duality, Hedda’s Sword and Lycan Tides)

No automatic alt text available.

No automatic alt text available.

No automatic alt text available.

 

 

 

 

No automatic alt text available.

 

and Kanaxa did the last four (Dust of Dreams, Riever’s Heart, God of Fyre Mountain, and Moonwitched).

No automatic alt text available.Image may contain: one or more people and textNo automatic alt text available.

 

 

 

 

 

 

No automatic alt text available.Weird story about how I first got published. I attended the 2006 NJ RWA Conference with a bunch of fellow FFP RWA writers, and I got talked into pitching Duality to Angela James (then with Samhain, now with Carina Press). I dropped my “cheat” index cards under my chair, I was so nervous. She asked a lot of pointed questions about my twist on Cinderella, and invited me to submit the manuscript to them. When I started to type the query letter, my oh-so-nosy-and-helpful cat Chandra walked across the keyboard and sent the darn thing prematurely. Half a letter, no attachments. I just about had a heart attack, when I had to rewrite and resubmit with an explanation. *sob* Two weeks later, I got an acceptance letter from Linda offering a contract:

Dear Renee: Thank you for sending Duality for consideration for publishing. I think it’s a terrific book, really well written, with great characters and an interesting story line. I would like to offer you a contract.

The only caveat is that I probably won’t be able to schedule the release for any earlier than late summer/early fall next year. If you don’t mind a bit of a wait, then I’ll go ahead and put in for the contract. Please let me know.
Thank you-
Linda Ingmanson, Editor
Samhain Publishing
I was over the moon, and Linda and I turned out some award-winning projects:
Duality – Hedda’s Sword – Lycan Tides
Image may contain: textNo automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.Image may contain: text

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m sad to see it all end, and I hope I can find a new home that comes close to what I’ve enjoyed at Samhain. I wish everyone the best in future endeavors.

Leave a Reply

Categories

