Posted by: reneewildes1 | February 28, 2017

Music to Write To

Music is such a visceral subjective thing, and a huge part of our world culture. Your music preferences say a lot about you as a person. It defines who and what we are.

Some people write to music, to help them think/create. My books all have soundtracks. I have general “fantasy romance” bands, and then specific bands/sounds for specific books. Thought I’d share where my stories come from.

I love Kate Price (hammer dulcimer) and Mediaeval Baebes — my go-to for all my stories. I love the Old World chants and instruments. They really set the stage for my world-building: castles and kings, peasant villages & serfs, knights and healers, bards and seers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I play Enya for love scenes, Nightwish & Within Temptation for magical scenes, and Axel Rudi Pell for my fight/battle scenes. For dark magic I’ve been known to pull Warlock out of the archives. Doro Pesch’s voice could cut glass.

Enya:

Tarja turunen:

Sharon den Adel   Within Temptation:

 

 

 

 

 

Axel Rudi Pell:

Doro Pesch:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hedda’s Sword is set in Shamar, and Riever’s Heart is set in Isadorikja. Both countries experienced major political upheaval. For them I went with Nordic bands, because the minor keys and not-quite-blending harmonics leave a wonderful unsettled feeling. My kids tease me because I don’t know the words to the lyrics, but I just like the sound! Gamarna, Hedningarna & Varttina:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lycan Tides is more traditional Celtic – Danu &Leahy in particular

Danu brings Irish music to the Rialto Theater Center - Loveland Reporter-Herald:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

R. Carlos Nakai - Godfather of Native American Flute playing & most famous of all NAF performers today.:

My one non-Guardians of Light published book is Marek’s New World, from Tirgearr Publishing. It’s what I call a contemporary rural paranormal. Heroine is a white wolf shifter and forestry ranger. Hero is a 2000-year-old Native American warrior. They try to apprehend a loosed demon in Kootenai National Forest. For this story I played a lot of Native American flute, esp. R. Carlos Nakai

 

 

 

 

So that pretty much sums up my musical journey as a writer. I’d love to hear what you listen to!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

