Posted by: reneewildes1 | February 24, 2017

A Few of My Favorite Things

So, just thought I’d post this as a “getting to know you.” Writer & book info is all well and good, but we’re first and foremost people, too. So I thought I’d let you get to know me a little better. Writers are first and foremost readers, and I’m no exception.

I grew up reading fantasy and watching sci fi. My first crush was Captain Apollo from the ORIGINAL Battlestar Galactica TV series (Richard Hatch).

I love reading Mercedes Lackey. My favorite was the “Storm” trilogy – I’ve read them to pieces! The book I consider my inspiration, what got me started writing is Barbara Hambly’s “The Ladies of Mandrigyn.”

 

 My favorite color is blue, my favorite flower is stargazer lily, and I can never get enough Mexican food. I usually order Cosmopolitans at the bar, but my favorite wine (at home) is Australian Shiraz (esp. Rosemont). I’m more of a stay-in person than a go-out person, and I get cold really easy so I’m usually snuggled in a fuzzy blanket with a cup of coffee, reading or scrapbooking or watching movies.

 

When I DO venture outside, it’s usually to spend time walking my Chow Abby

Image may contain: plant, dog and outdoor

and/or hanging out at my daughter’s 4H horse shows with out Morab mare Sassy (Temptation Fyre N Ice)

Image may contain: 1 personNo automatic alt text available.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love movies with strong heroines – my all-time favorites are Jessica Lange as Mary McGregor in Rob Roy and Madeleine Stowe as Cora Monroe in Last of the Mohicans. (What, you thought I watched for Liam Neeson in a kilt and Daniel Day Lewis in buckskins? LOL)

 

 

 

 

 

I try to write heroines in the same strong-but-feminine vein, inspired by the above fictitious women. Now that I write fantasy romance, I read a lot more of it, just to see what else other people are doing. My all-time favorite fantasy romance books in recent years is Elizabeth Vaughan’s “Warprize”

So that’s a bit about the “real” me!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

