Posted by: reneewildes1 | September 24, 2013

Review: The Dysfunctional Test

The Dysfunctional Test
The Dysfunctional Test by Kelly Moran
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There are very few books to register on my epic “Rob Roy” cry scale – the blotchy-faced-glad-the-kids-aren’t-here-to-be-humiliated bawl fest. I bought this book because of the cute cover and intriguing blurb – she begs an old friend for a pity date to attend her sister’s wedding. I thought it would be a fun, funny read on my day off. Don’t get me wrong – it is. The niece’s mispronunciations are cosmic, and the extended family is beyond strange, of “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” proportions.

But it’s so much more than that.

I read this book in one sitting. Burnt the coffee. Never saw the mailman deliver even though the dog usually announces. Never heard the dog – and she’s a Chow who sounds like a T-Rex-sized rage-monster when the mailman shows up. Because I got lost in this book. Completely.

Camryn and Troy are believably REAL. They’re real people with personal issues people can relate to and identify with. Scars and fears and insecurities. Everything starts out with the “One Big Lie” to fake it and fool the family. Only pretend becomes terrifyingly real, and to see two wounded souls open up and LIVE again – because of the other person – was humbling and moving. I laughed and cried(and really hated Grandma a time or two) and was pissed at the perfect ending because it was OVER and the next page was BLANK! I will probably reread this book again a few hundred times – if only to hear Emily butcher the word “popcorn.”

This book is a gem. PLEASE go get your own copy – you’ll own a true treasure!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Categories

