Posted by: reneewildes1 | October 6, 2012

Review: Buckling Down: A Wild Ride Story

Buckling Down: A Wild Ride Story
Buckling Down: A Wild Ride Story by Moira Keith
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

So, all my friends know I am a die-hard PBR fan, and I’m NOT referring to BEER. No, I’m talking about Professional Bull Riding. I have a stuffed animal version of Blueberry Wine my kids got me for Xmas – it’s on my desk at work. So reading about a bull rider at the National Finals Rodeo in Vegas? I am SO there!

Levi McKenna is on the comeback/redemption trail. Unfortunately the media seems more concerned with who his latest love interest is than with his professional goals. Coming back to Vegas brings him full circle with old family friends – including his old prom date, Sydney Hart, all grown up. He finds her singing in her brother’s bar, and they decide to renew their old friendship. Sydney’s got issues of her own, in the name of a persistent, dangerous stalker. Trying to renew old friendships in the midst of a media circus and a premier sporting event isn’t easy. But the chemistry between these two is undeniable, and they’re determined to not walk away before seeing if they truly can pick up where they left off.

This was a fun, fast read, full of denim and sawdust and music and beer. Ms. Keith really brings the world to life, including the pressures involved that, sadly, have NOTHING to do with bull riding. Cowboys just trying to do what they love, what they’re good at – and hopefully make a living and not get killed while they’re at it. Women who truly love them fighting off the women who are just “buckle bunnies” looking for a good time and a notch on the bedpost. It’s a tough life, full of stress and challenges, but I really found myself cheering for Levi’s and Sydney’s HEA. Ms. Keith does not disappoint! I recommend this book for both the true fans and the curious!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Categories

