Posted by: reneewildes1 | July 28, 2010

I AM NOT A DIPLOMAT

See, I can admit it.

I don’t know if it’s the Midwest thing, the grew-up-country/oldest-sibling thing or the mom thing, but I call them as I see them. Honesty is a moral imperative. Tact, not so much. I hate politics because no one ever SAYS anything. I have no patience with prima donnas, whiners or backstabbers. If someone’s acting like an idiot, I tell them. I usually pull out my mom hat and tell them to grow up & act like adults.

Had a run-in with my local telecommunications office today. Charter. On their bill, in big bold letters, it states, “Amount Due 8/1/10.” Today’s 7/27/10 & they shut me off. Turns out in the upper L corner in itty bitty letters is an “amount to be paid w/in 5 days of statement date.” So I called them on it: “So the truth in hidden in the middle of the micro-print paragraph and the blatant lie is in bold print?” Paid them and got it back on right away but nothing like contradicting themselves.

I hate people who contradict themselves…or lie.

I considered taking an officer position in one of my writing organizations. Thought long and hard. I’m organized, hardworking and capable of delegating.  Don’t have a superfluous amount of time, but I’m a working mom. We can juggle. (Reference Michelle Pfeiffer in “One Fine Day”.) I’m not a type A, so I play well with others…

Except for my big, fat, born-country, oldest-sibling, Midwestern-mom MOUTH!

I can take other people’s opinions…as long as they make sense. I have zero tolerance for fingerpointing and namecalling – my CHILDREN do it and drive me nuts, but they’re children. Adults who do it drive me bonkers. If you screw up, own it. Admit it, apologize, fix it and MOVE ON!

It’s a big sandbox, people. Learn to play well with others.

See, if I said that in a board meeting I’d be run out…on a board. So after much deliberation I declined the position. I’d better stick to my strengths.

Politics is SO not one of them!

Responses

  1. Good, honest post, Dee! Love it.

  2. I hate Charter! I have them too. I have been overcharged many times and they won’t help you. Very rude. And my cable,etc still doesn’t work right. Yep and the lady told me you can go 14 days over your due date before they shut you off. Wouldn’t trust ’em though. LOL. I enjoyed your post today. Really made me think.

  3. There is nothing wrong about being blunt, especially when you have the proof to back it up. Love the fine print bungle you found. They’re lucky you didn’t take them to court. 🙂
    Love the blog!

  4. I’m so there with you. If there’s a problem, let’s solve it, not point fingers. And how about the companies that send the bill so that you have maybe a day to turn it around or be late…grrr.


Leave a Reply

Categories

