Posted by: reneewildes1 | August 4, 2009

The Importance of Volunteering

My kids and I have always recycled, but our latest thing is to volunteering at the New Life Pet Adoption Center, a local (well, okay, semi-local) no-kill humane society. They’re totally dependent on volunteers and donations. So I signed me and the kids up. I figured it’s a good way for them to learn how to make a difference in the world around them. They love animals, and it’ll teach them empathy and responsibility. Josh loves cats. Tami wants to be a vet and it’s never too early to pad a resume for them. We’re working weekends, cleaning cages, feeding & watering, & just “socializing” which is the technical term for grooming/petting/exercising (playing with) the critters. It’s the perfect job!

We’ll be selling soda at the county fair this Sunday afternoon as part of their fundraiser.

We went to the Milwaukee Zoo this weekend, and they got to see a whole variety of endangered species, and what zoos are doing to help. My kids grew up watching my hero, the late Steve Irwin, so I want to make sure they have an appreciation for the planet and everything on it.

I hope everyone who buys a soda appreciates a couple of kids trying to pitch in and make their world a better place. I try to follow their good example!

Leave a Reply

Categories

