Posted by: reneewildes1 | April 6, 2012

Welcome Nikki Duncan – And WALK ON THE WILD SIDE!

I’d like to welcome fellow Samhain author Nikki Duncan to my blog site today. We’re very excited about her new release, Illicit Intuitions. Please say hi to Nikki, and thanks for stopping by!

Walk on the Wild Side

Given that I’m guest blogging for Renee Wildes it seemed natural that I blog about something wild. So how about we talk about our wild sides and how we choose to embrace them?

Growing up, I was anything but wild. Why would I want to be wild when the two times I tried to be I got in such horrible trouble that I still feel the sting of the punishment? I never got drunk or did drugs. No, my two times were much more… I’m not sure what the right word is, but they were different.

See, there was this boy. Yes, of course that would be the cause. First was when I snuck out with a leather skirt I had been forbidden to wear under a longer skirt. Yep, Mom found me out. I still say it was a lovely skirt. ;) Then there was the time (same boy) that I jumped out my bedroom window to go for a ride in his car. It sounded so exciting at the time, but it really was just a ride in a car. Neither the adventure nor the boy was worth the trouble I got into for that one.

I just wasn’t good at being naughty back then. Guess I hadn’t found my…rhythm.

When I discovered writing a whole new world opened up for me. I suddenly had friends who understood the quirks of my brain and who respected that there were healthy ways to indulge our wild sides.

My friend Shayla Black showed me that it is perfectly okay to drink and party with friends, though I can still say that I have never been drunk or had a hangover.

My friend Jules Bennett encouraged me to indulge my wild side on a more regular basis in the way of shoes. High heels, open toes, strappy heels, sparkly, suede, leather and bling. They all have their place in a wild girl’s closet and even with a sedate outfit they lend a certain feeling of being sexy. With that feeling comes a confidence we can only find when we embrace our wild side. For me that is a confidence that gives me the strength to walk into a crowded room or talk in front of a group when I would be much more comfortable in my office in yoga pants.

It’s that kind of inner confidence I think my characters in <a href=“http://nikkiduncan.com/bookshelf/bookshelf/illicit-intuitions-sensory-ops-book-three/”target=“_blank”> ILLICIT INTUITIONS</a> possess. Ava certainly had to have an inner strength and a strong wild side to post as a call girl on a past mission. And who could be better than a woman in touch with her wild side to teach a fairly sheltered empath–who’s lived most of his life in captivity–how to embrace his?

<strong>Tell me about your wild side. Have you found it? How do you indulge it?

Commenters will be entered into a drawing for an ARC of <a href=“http://nikkiduncan.com/bookshelf/bookshelf/illicit-intuitions-sensory-ops-book-three/”target=“_blank”> ILLICIT INTUITIONS</a>, set to release next Tuesday.</strong> I will come back here Saturday to announce the winner.

Love could be their greatest liability.

Ava Malia knows three things. She was once a kickass covert operative. She will eventually adjust to her new team, the FBI Specialized Crimes Unit. And the only way to finally be free of her professional past is to solve her first case and get her hands on a game-changing technology. The only problem? Success rides on her ability to swallow her distaste for the persona she must adopt in order to earn the trust of a mysterious scientist.

Dr. H escaped childhood captivity with three things. His sister. Complete control of his gift. And an engulfing distrust of anyone in the government. Adjusting to a life of freedom hasn’t been easy, but he’s found peace in solitude. The sexy woman auditing his empathic studies, though, has a way of getting under his skin that’s both arousing and disturbing. Plus, his psychic ability warns him of secrets so deeply buried in her psyche, they’d be better left alone.

Yet their instant attraction strips away all their protective barriers, down to the foundation of a new, fragile trust. And a vulnerability that, when an old enemy opens fire, could blast away any chance of a future.

 

Read an excerpt of <a href=“http://nikkiduncan.com/bookshelf/bookshelf/illicit-intuitions-sensory-ops-book-three/”target=“_blank”> ILLICIT INTUITIONS</a> now!

 


Responses

  1. Embracing my wild side would be reading books that a few years ago I would not read. I would of thought of them as too spicey or naughty. LOL. Now I read all kinds of those books and others kinds of book I never knew I liked. Love your book cover and the book sounds really good. Thanks for the giveaway.
    Sue B
    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

    • So what made you change your reading habits?

    • Ah, Naughty Books! What had you changing your habits? What was the inspiration?

      • An authors blog that I found and her excerpts. I thought boy does that sound good and steamy. And I was hooked. LOL. Normally I would of blushed as I was raised very strick. Kind of giving away my age. LOL.
        Sue B

      • Ah, so a naughty author converted you. I love it!

  2. HI Sue (and Nikki!)

    Home from 1/2 day of work. Hope you gals are looking forward to an aweseome weekend. Any special plans?

    • Hi Renee! Thanks for having me here.

      I have super exciting plans of tackling my to do list. I tell myself it’s my way of making time to embrace my wild side at RT next week. :)

      • Glad to have you here! I’m SO jealous about RT. I WAS going, then the $$ fell through. Drat! Have fun! PLZ Twitterize everything so I can live vicariously! Planning on NEXT year tho, so maybe we can meet then!

    • No plans really just going to relax and watch movies. Except on Easter I usually make a nice ham dinner for the 3 of us.

      • Sounds nice! We’re laying low this weekend – I’m writing, working on getting God of Fyre Mountain finished by the end of the month since Laurel Bradley and I pinkie-swore on Tuesday!

      • Relaxing and watching movies sounds lovely.

  3. I don’t really know if I have found my wild side…lol

    I do indulge myself with reading and purchasing books and I also eat a little bit of chocolate and indulge in the occasional glass of wine or Pomegranate Margarita.

    FYI – I too got in trouble over a boy who was really not worth it…lol

    • Maria,

      I bet that boy was part of your wild side. Some of us just aren’t naturally wild. :)

      • Ha! I was a late bloomer in my rebellion – AFTER I graduated from parochial boarding school, I had what my mom calls my “bad decade.” I worked as a roadie for a hard rock “hair band” (ala Warrant) called Nasty Habit w/my ex. Had a serious case of the hots for their lead guitarist…

      • That’s an awesome story, Renee. Even at my worst I’m still not too bad.

  4. The winner of today’s ARC is katsrus! Email me at nikki @ nikkiduncan.com to claim your prize!

  5. OMG thank you so much!! I just emailed you.
    Sue B

  6. SWEET! Congrats Sue!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,346 other followers

